Skip to content

Cupcake Sunday – Tri-Color Cupcakes

January 17, 2010

πŸ™‚ First cupcake sunday yay!!! πŸ™‚

So today i decided to make a tricolored cupcake. It is a simple version of the rainbow cake.
So this is what I made! πŸ™‚ … (Cupcake did not come with face, though that would have been awesome!) These would actually make great valentines day cupcakes!! Cute bright colorful colors!
So here is how it was made: ^___^
1. Gather your ingredients/supplies. You will need a cupcake tray, cake mix, and food coloring.
I used strawberry supreme cake mix! But you can use any flavor you like. KEEP IN MIND the color of the actual cake does effect what happens to the color when you add the food coloring. For example if you use yellow cake and want to have a blue layer, well yellow + blue makes green.

2. Now follow the instructions on the back of the box. Once everything is mixed separate the batter into smaller bowls of equal amounts. I wanted my cupcakes to have 3 colors so i used 3 bowls. I took a large spoon and put the same amount of spoonfuls in each bowl.
As you can see my 3 different bowls have more or less the same amount. Now The bowl on the right i left alone so i had a nice pastel pink. The middle bowl I added some blue in order to get a nice purple. The bowl on the left I added some red in order to get a darker pink. Mix the color in until you are happy with it. In my case I had to add a little bit of red to the purple mix to get it to a nice rich purple.
See! The regular pink, the hot pink, and purple!

3. Now there are a few different ways you can make this cupcake. I tried 3 different ways @_@. It all really depends on what is the end result you are looking for and how much time you have.

a. Lets talk about the easy fast way of making these.
You actually get a pretty psychedelic cupcake if you make them this way and you never know what you will get when you bite into them. Once you have the cupcake paper thingys in place a spoonful of each color in them. The colors with kinda blend but wont mix. You can play around with the amount of each color and the order. I put those together on the top of the tray as you can see.

Bake in the temp and time that your box tells you. I will confess it’s pretty fun to watch as they expand inside the oven! Like a little color show!
When these cupcakes are done you will get real cool swirly effects throught the cupcake, and when you bite it you just dont know what colors and nifty swirls you will get. πŸ™‚ See!

b. Now probably the most time consuming one out of the three.
You see the second isle on the cupcake tray from the picture above. Well here it is again so you dont have to scroll.

Each one is a different color. It is about a spoon and a half in there, you shouldn’t put more than that. Unless, you want a leaning tower of cupcakes xD. Bake them for a little over half the time the box suggests for full cupcakes. Or until the toothpick comes out clean. Once they are out of the oven you can take them out of the paper.

As you can see now you have three separate little layers. This is where the frosting comes out! In order to keep them together you are going to glue them with the frosting.

Now you have a little tower! You can then cover the small tower with frosting. CAUTION this is ALOT of frosting .. so I would suggest the reduced sugar frosting lol or fondant for a cleaner/smoother covering. And viola Le Tower de Cupcake.

c. My personal favorite. This is what I did to get the effect in the very first picture. Now this kinda takes alot of back and forth and close time watching.
First: Pour about a spoonful and a half into the cupcake paper thingy. Place inside oven and wait for about 5-7 minutes. You dont want it in there for too long because you still have the other colors to bake. Once the time is up open the oven and pull the tray out a slight, enough to put another spoonful of the next color. You dont want to take out the tray and then put it in. So just be careful and please dont burn yourselves when doing this <3. Now wait another 5-7 minutes and place the third color just like you did the second. Place back in the over and after your last 5-7 minutes (grand total of 15-20 minutes or so) your cupcakes are done! πŸ™‚ Some of mine came out kinda small so it just depends on the spoonfuls you put in.
you know, I could have sworn that I took more pictures of this baking process, but it would appear that I havent. :sadface: Put i got a few of the already baked ones!Β  Yummy!


Hey! remember how I said with the psychedelic ones you can get crazy swirls and such. Well you can kinda have a little control on how it comes out. Here i made one have a purple strip down the middle! πŸ™‚
What I def think the most fun about this is not knowing what you are biting into. So if your thinking about making these for someone, use the foil cupcake paper thingy! That way they cant see though the paper and with the frosting they wont have any idea what they are biting into! πŸ™‚

Let me know if you guys end up trying different colors or variations. would love to hear or see!! ^_^

4 Comments leave one →
  1. thefrugalcrafter permalink
    January 18, 2010 11:25 pm

    Love this, I’m a sucker for cupcake but I only have them a few times a year because I am vegan and have to make my own and I’m just plain lazy in the kitchen LOL! These are adorable and LOVE the face!

    • January 19, 2010 12:22 am

      LOL aw my cousins a vegan too so i gots a few recipes i can share πŸ™‚ I love baking, cooking not so much even though im told cooking is easier since you can wing it and have it usually come out good .. I leave the cooking to my bf hehe

  2. Emmy permalink
    January 20, 2010 3:31 pm

    Love it (and the face on your first picture.) They would be great for 4th of July.

    • January 20, 2010 3:49 pm

      thanks! Hmm i didnt even think about 4th of July! red/blue/and white!! ^_^ Good thinking!

Leave a comment